St Andrew’s School, Turi was founded by the Levets and taken on by Peter and Jean Lavers (known to all as Ma and Pa) in 1931. There were initially 15 children in the school and by the end of the second term there were already 22 pupils.
Since then, it has grown to be a large and successful boarding school, providing a first-class education to children from East Africa and beyond. Starting as a Preparatory School for pupils aged 5 to 13 years, St Andrew’s added the Senior School in 1988 and the College in 2010 and now caters for nearly 600 students between the ages of 5 and 18.
The Phoenix symbol of St Andrew’s, Turi represents the new school rising out of the ashes of the old, in memory of the fire that broke out at the School on 29th February, 1944. The School was destroyed but the chapel was unscathed and no one was hurt. Pa Lavers, who still ran the School at that time, managed the rebuild of the School by employing Italian Prisoners of War. Many of them were skilled artisans, who took enormous pride in their work and painted beautiful murals. The Baden-Powell Hall is a testament to the enormous skills these men possessed and is a reminder of the truly eventful history that the School has experienced.